top of page
Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Featured Posts

Life Pieces to Masterpieces

Over this past summer, I was lucky enough to be accepted into a program at Georgetown University where I was able to learn more about social justice and community service. Even though I gained so many new experiences at the program, the one that stuck out to me the most was when we volunteered at the organization Life Pieces to Masterpieces. Life Pieces to Masterpieces is youth development program that takes place after school and during the summer for young black boys who live in the Washington DC area. An array of activities are conducted throughout the day where the boys are there that include art, meditation, and further education. After spending time with the boys that were there I was able to learn a lot about the reasoning behind the organization. The most eye opening part of my experience at Life Pieces to Masterpieces was discovering that only 30% of African American young men in Washington DC graduate from high school. However, 100% of the boys from Life Pieces not only graduate, but move onto greater education. That statistic made me so inspired by the work this organization was doing to help shape these young boy’s lives. So I encourage you to help Life Pieces prosper by donating or even volunteering if you are ever in the area.


Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page